15 days and counting…

July 15th is the big moving day! With 15 days to go, I thought that I’d spill on some of the things I’ve been doing to prepare!

1. Packed all of the non-essential kitchen stuff after telling my roommate S that I’m taking everything I brought with me. (She was a sublet so the only things she moved in, besides stuff for her room, was a chaise, a rug, a lamp and a can opener. Which means the dishes, glasses, silverware, coffee maker, etc etc is mine. Made for a kind of awkward conversation).
2. Cleaned out all of the kitchen cupboards and tossed out all of the junk that accumulated.
3. Canceled cable and returned the cable boxes/hookups.
4. Emptied the bookcase and packed away all of my books/cookbooks.

Sounds impressive, right? I thought so too, until I stepped into my room and saw… Everything. All of my pictures are still up, my awards, my desk was a mess (I found a 2011 calendar… It’s now halfway through 2013. Gross!) and I still had sweaters hanging in my closet.

But I just can’t bring myself to pack my room up, at least not yet. 15 days is a long time to go without my room looking/feeling like my room, you know? Although I did get frustrated enough yesterday and cleaned out/off my desk, tossed all the misc stuff out from two junk drawers and packed away some sweaters. (It’s nearly July in Boston. There is no, I repeat no, reason for me to need a sweater. FYI: It was 82 yesterday with a dewpoint of about 70. Phew).

Luckily, my mom is sending N up with some plastic bins so I can really start packing everything together. But before I can do that, I need to go through all my clothes. Everybody knows how it is, there are tons of clothes hanging in the closet, in the dresser (if your like me, in plastic bins under the bed), yet there is “nothing to wear.” Once all of the clothes that don’t fit, are too ugly, stained and ripped are taken out, suddenly all the pretty clothes are visible and just dying to be worn! I’m hoping that happens and if not, then Target here I come!

On another note, since I’m not working and don’t have cable I’ve gotten really creative with my time. I’ve read about twelve books on my Kindle, one paperback book, watched the entire series of The Mindy Project on Hulu, started Breaking Bad on Netflix, had a day long GroupMe chat with some other future 1Ls that I met through the Facebook group and started reading “Law School Confidential A Complete Guide to the Law School Experience: By Students, for Students” by Robert H. Miller

This book was given to me by one of my best friends who just graduated law school in Texas. She told me to read it three times before school started: 1. When I start applying to schools 2. When I decide which school I’m attending and 3. Two weeks before school actually starts.
The book is divided into 4 sections (So You Wanna Be A Lawyer…, The First Year, They Scare You To Death, The Second Year, They Work You To Death and And The Third Year, They Bore You To Death) and 28 chapters (ranging from “Thinking about Law School? Think Again” to “The Unspoken Code of Law School Etiquette” to “Back on the Chain Gang: Advice about Journal Membership” and “The Final Hurdle: Strategies for the Bar Examination.”)

I can’t even begin to say how helpful this has been to calm my nerves. Because it’s written by former law school students who graduated and passed the bar, the book feels like a hug from a friend and not like the fake-oh-my-god-i-am-so-glad-to-see-you hug, but a everything-is-going-to-be-okay hug. It’s 392 pages of advice which I guarantee, once you begin to read, you won’t be able to put down.

Here’s some bits of advice I found especially helpful:
-“With nothing but law to discuss otherwise, gossip spreads quickly. A couple of early mistakes can you a reputation for the duration, and a damaged social reputation can easily carry over… and on into your future as a lawyer. Exercise discretion.” (p.153)
-“… if your law school employs a mandatory curve… the reality is this: Somebody is going to get the As and somebody is going to get the Cs…. Heed this warning: If you approach law school like it’s an extension of college, when grades come out, you’ll find yourself in a hole that you may be digging yourself out of for the rest of your law school career.” (p. 129).
-“Remember your goal is to arrive in your last week of classes with up-to-the-minute class outlines.” (p. 158)

If anybody is interested in buying the book, it’s sold at Barnes and Noble online for $17.20 and on the kindle for $7.99.

Read the book!
And stay tipsy!

Have something to say?

