7 Reasons why I am my mother’s daughter

I know I said I was going on a hiatus until Sunday because of a little thing called finals, but this is a post that I really wanted to put up in time for Mother’s Day.

Mother’s Day began in 1908 by a woman named Anna Jarvis and in 1914, President Woodrow Wilson made it a national holiday, even though most other states had already been celebrating it before then. Today, several countries besides the US celebrate Mother’s Day including: the UK, Canada, India, Mexico and Denmark, amongst others.

This is the first year that I won’t be with my mom for Mother’s Day because of law school and the numerous ways it ruins my life. I wanted to make a nice little post that I could share with my mom so that she knows that while I’m always thinking of her, I’m especially doing so on Mother’s Day.

My mom loves animals.

 

Without further ado, the 7 reasons why I am my mother’s daughter:

  1. My love for animals: The love and compassion she has taught me to give not just other humans but animals as well. When my sister and I became old enough my mom went out and bought us two pet parakeets, Buddy and Trixie. We weren’t allowed to have dogs or cats in our apartment, so birds were the next best thing. I remember her taking Buddy and Trixie out of their cage and putting them on our fingers-perches by telling the birds, “up, up” so they would step onto our fingers. Needless to say, both Buddy and Trixie are now in a better place, ever since then we’ve had pet birds, fish, two dogs, hermit crabs and a couple of crayfish. I’ve since joined the SALDF at school which entails us to raise money and volunteer at local animal shelters. I also hope to adopt a shelter dog once I’m out of school. I’m extremely grateful that my mom instilled this sense of passion for helping animals into me.
  2. My ability to laugh: For the longest time (I’m talking well into college and even now) I was an extremely introverted child. I was painfully shy, overly sensitive and easily embarrassed. If teachers gave me constructive criticism on a paper or an oral presentation, especially if they did so in front of any other student, teacher or parent, I’d start crying. Between having an extremely large, loud, outgoing family and gradually coming out of my shell, I slowly began to become a bit more extroverted, but one thing still held me back, I was still VERY easily embarrassed. Any little embarrassing thing that happened to me, I made it 100x worse because I couldn’t laugh at myself or shake the mortification. This was made worse when other kids did laugh at me because I got so distressed. My mom helped me learn that even though I may be absolutely mortified at myself, I was the one who was making it a bigger deal by making it clear to those around me that I couldn’t deal with whatever happened. This wasn’t a change that happened overnight by any means, but by using my mom as an example and observing her behavior when she was embarrassed, I was able to mimic her and realized that she was right, laughing at myself was the easiest way to get over my embarrassment. Thankfully she taught me this before law school, otherwise I would have been defeated a long time ago.
  3. My sense of humor: My mom, my sister and I all have the same sense of humor. We’re full of bad puns, hilarious one-liners and sarcasm. It’s great. I believe that the best sense of humor to have is one that the people around you also have; this way everybody can enjoy the people around them. Nothing makes me feel more at home than those lame jokes that make all of us giggle. This sense of humor also goes back to being able to laugh at myself because all I have to do is find a way to deflect whatever feeling of mortification I have and spin it into something funny. I thank my mom especially for this one, because she is hilarious and so am I.
  4. My motivation to succeed: For close to 10 years, my mom was a single mom of two daughters and worked full-time. I don’t know how she managed to find time to bathe, much less find quality time for us, but she did. I never heard my mom complain about the numerous trips to the library my sister and I wanted to go to (nerds), the hours we spent outside together, even when it was too humid to wear shoes or so buggy that they flew into our mouths. She was so motivated to get her work done while at work, run errands during her lunch hour and clean the apartment before we woke up, so that my sister and I would be lucky enough to spend time with her. Every time I feel really overwhelmed with school, thinking about all of the stuff my mom had to juggle when she was the same age I am puts my life into perspective.
  5. My view of education: My mom stressed the value of education for both my sister and I. She didn’t accept bad grades from us because she knew that we were capable of scoring higher. I distinctly remember having a lot of trouble with my timetables and one night, my mom and I sat down for HOURS (okay, maybe not hours, but it sure felt like it) going row by row, column by column until I knew them all. Did I realize then how important timetables would be? No. Did my mom? Of course! In elementary school my homework was always checked by her and I waited anxiously for it to meet the mom standard before I could put it away. In middle school and high school, every day she would ask if I had any homework and would force me to do it. How I wish she could force me to do my reading now! But education will be something I stress to my children. It’s important and it’s necessary to have a good life.
  6. The fact that we look alike: Not as much as my sister and my mom look alike, but pretty damn similar. I’m thankful for that because she looks fabulous for 29* and I hope to look like her when I’m that age!  (*not her real age, but she’s a lady and I won’t disclose it!)
  7. My love of alcohol: Some days there’s nothing better than champagne for dinner and boy oh boy, do we indulge! Just kidding, that makes it sound like we have a problem! But we do enjoy the consumption of alcohol, especially together. There’s nothing better on a rotten day than sitting back with my mom and both of us enjoying a glass/bottle of wine. Especially now that I don’t live at home, it’s little moments like this where I realize how similar my mom and I are.

Well, there you have it: the 7 reason why I am my mother’s daughter.

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY, MOM!

Have something to say?

