The importance of a thank you

thankyou

 

A few weeks ago, I had gotten an e-mail about a job fair that was being hosted at a nearby law school. I glanced through the firms, decided what the hell, and bid for about 9 out of 15 spots. I pushed the fair out of my head and focused on work for a few weeks. See, I go into something with low, if not non-existent, expectations about what will happen. I always assume that my bids won’t be accepted, my email won’t get answered, I won’t hear back from the interview, etc, etc, etc. Fortunately, I was notified that three firms accepted my bids and that I had interviews with them. That was yesterday.

My mom raised my sister and I to always say ‘please’ and ‘thank you’; if we went to a friend’s birthday party as we were getting out of the car my mom would say, “make sure to say thank you before you leave!” I’m pretty sure she still says that when I go out. But, I digress. My interviews seemed to go well, at least two of them. None of them went horrible, but I felt as if I didn’t do as well with one of them. Fortunately, or unfortunately, the interviews are only 20 minutes long, just long enough to sell yourself and catch the employer’s interest for a callback interview.

The second after I left each interview, I sent a thank you email to each interviewer, thanking them for their time and if they needed anything else to let me know. I know it’s not much, but here’s to hoping that my good manners will help me stand out a little bit and get a call back interview. I heard back from two of the interviewers thanking me for my thank you email and assuring me that if they need anything else that they will ask for it.

Fingers crossed I hear back!

 

Update: You guys must have had your fingers crossed for me, because I heard back today! I got rejected from one firm. I’m really not surprised at all. It was my last interview of the day and when I left, I knew it didn’t go very well. Oh well. At least this rejection was quick and (relatively!) painless. If you will excuse me, I’m going to eat my feelings and take a nap underneath my desk.

Have something to say?

