First Year Associate Musings: Budgets are Evil

Great post to read when struggling with sticking to a budget! Being more financially stable is one of the most popular resolutions (don’t ask me to cite that) so follow along with Journey Thru L’s budgeting journey!

Journey Thru L

budgetsNo one prepares us for adult life. I’ve had over eight years of higher education and yet I have no idea how to create a budget and stick to it. Now that I have health insurance being taken out of my paycheck, a car payment, and student loans coming due, I have to stick to my budget more than ever.

I’ve heard of various methods for sticking to budgets throughout the years, as I’ve struggled financially since the moment I was handed my first credit card. Honestly, the best method is one I don’t see myself ever following – the cash method. The idea of going to the bank and having to physically hold my monthly budget is terrifying and burdensome. Where do you even store the money? How do you keep it all separate? What if a bill requires a check?

The concept of online banking is so familiar…

View original post 88 more words

3 thoughts on “First Year Associate Musings: Budgets are Evil

    1. You’re welcome! I was researching different budgeting methods and had all of the same concerns that you did. There are so many what-ifs that it really made me overwhelmed about the whole financial process.

      I think I’m going to try the cash envelope method for a few months ($120 a month to spend on whatever I want) and once the money’s spent, I’m done spending for the month. I’ll let you know how that works! We should update each other every so often to see how it’s going!

      Liked by 1 person

Have something to say?

