I survived 2L Hell! And another year bites the dust.

On Monday, May 4th at 10:15 I walked into my last final a sad, overwhelmed, sleep deprived and slightly dirty 2L. Three hours later, at 1:15, I walked out a relieved, slightly dirty 3L. My transformation was glorious, just like a fat, ugly, stupid caterpillar turning into a less fat, still ugly, mentally drained butterfly.

Finals week was absolutely terrible. I had three papers (one 25+ pages and two 8 page papers), one mock mediation, one presentation, and three sit down finals. The due dates were all within two weeks of each other, so it was fourteen days of pure hell. Oh, and on top of all of that, I was going above and beyond the hour requirement for my externship; 140 hours is the required amount to receive 3 credits, but I had to be a little overachiever and complete 202 hours.

This was me at the end of every day

My 2L year was a total of 33 credits: 16 in the fall and 17 in the spring. Remind me again (because I’m pretty sure I said the same thing last year) to NEVER take a night class and to NEVER take more than 3 finals. I went through the semester so overwhelmed and stressed with all of the work I had to complete and spent so much time laying on my bed whispering “You’re so stupid” over and over again to myself. I felt like I couldn’t even enjoy learning new material or my externship. At the end of the day, though, I realized I need to give myself a lot of credit and a couple punches to the face.

Next year, my course load is so much lighter and will hopefully be less stressful. I’m taking 12 credits each semester, including my clinic, so it’ll be a nice change of pace. My summer job doesn’t start until May 26th which gives me a few weeks to relax, read some books and act like a normal human being.

In honor of the school year ending, and summer beginning, let’s raise a glass (or sixteen) and celebrate!

Have something to say?

