Working, Clerking, and Taking Vacations

This week is the last week at my summer externship! I’ve completed 11 weeks, about 440 hours, and numerous assignments in that time. I learned a lot, but like anything that is somewhat repetitive, I was getting bored. Here was my typical day: Go in, write some findings, go to lunch, write more findings, go home. Imagine doing that 55 times in a row and you’ll understand my relief to finish.

Don’t get me wrong- I’m extremely grateful to my firm for giving me the opportunity to shadow, observe, learn, and practice while underneath them. I met a lot of people, I observed depositions, hearings, testimony, and client meetings; I wrote proposed findings of facts, mediation memorandums, research memorandums, and supersedeas motions.

The subject matter that I’m practicing in right now is just not for me. I’m accepted that. If I didn’t, I’d be extremely bitter that I worked there, and I never want to feel bitter for a wonderful experience. Besides, the view from my cubicle was absolutely gorgeous and that alone was worth it.

I mentioned in my post yesterday that I was having some issues with my fall scheduling… because I accepted a position as a judicial law clerk! I’m clerking for a judge in the criminal division, which I’m really excited for! For those readers that don’t know, a judicial law clerk works with the judge to research issues and make legal determinations. There are many benefits to clerking during law school: it looks fantastic on a resume, potential employers love seeing it, research and writing skills improve, and it can lead to a lot of connections and introductions. Plus, I’m getting academic credit for it which means less time in the law school! Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

I’m also interviewing for a law clerk job that pays, also for the fall! I’m interviewing for that today, so I’ve been researching the firm and my interviewer like crazy! It’s always good to be prepared, and I feel like I will never be before I go to interviews.

Next week, I’ll be at my parents house in New England, just relaxing. Hopefully I’ll be able to go to the beach and get some sun. I’ve been feeling so blah lately, so maybe getting away for awhile will lift my spirits.

Isn’t this beach just beautiful? It’s only about an hour or so from my parents house!

Any plans for the remainder of the summer readers? Anybody else clerking or working during the school year?

Have something to say?

