Help. I need somebody. Help. Not just anybody. Help. Probably an orthopedic doctor.

Like, how much do I want to complain about it? How many x-rays do I need to get? Do I really need an MRI?

As most of you readers know, I began getting serious about running this past summer. I ran my first 5K on October 3rd and I signed up for another 5K on Thanksgiving. I was going out and running maybe 3-4 times a week ranging from 3-4 miles, slowly increasing my mileage and pace. Or so I thought.

A few weeks ago, I caught a pretty brutal cold and took a week of from running. My chest hurt from coughing, I was sniffling, headaches, you guys know the drill. Fortunately, it only lasted a week so that Sunday I laced up my shoes and was looking forward to my first 3.5 mile run in awhile. I hadn’t even run a mile yet but I felt something wrong near my right ankle. At first I dismissed it as I was just pushing myself too hard after taking that time off, but quickly realized that something was actually wrong. I couldn’t run and could hardly put any weight on it. I pathetically limped my way home, grabbed some ice, and made myself comfortable on the couch.

My roommate ended up taking me to the Health Center at nearly 10 o’clock at night; a nurse referred me for x-rays, and a follow up appointment with a doctor. The x-rays showed nothing (stress fracture, I knew it), and the doctor referred me to an ortho and gave me a walking boot. The ortho, who I saw yesterday, told me that it’s most likely a stress fracture, to keep the boot on for another two weeks, and no running for six weeks after I take it off.

I’m so mad. I’m mad because it’s my fault. I’m mad because I thought I was doing everything right. I’m mad because I thought I was slowly increasing my mileage. I’m mad because I wasn’t paying attention and got hurt. I know that at some point all runners will be hurt and I’m trying to look at this as a speed bump, but it’s really difficult to see all these other runners outside when I’m stuck inside

Right now, the date it looks like I can start to run is December 30, so Merry Christmas to me! Running after all this time of being a caterpillar will be the best Christmas gift ever.

Runners who follow this blog, what advice do you have for me? What have you done after being injured that helped ensure you weren’t again? Do you cross-train? Do you foam roll? Help a novice runner out, please!

3 thoughts on “Help. I need somebody. Help. Not just anybody. Help. Probably an orthopedic doctor.

Have something to say?

